Eddie Dunstedter - Christmas Candy

Eddie Dunstedter
Christmas Candy
Capitol SM-11831 (Remaster of Capitol ST 2395)


01. Greensleeves 2:30
02. Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town 3:04
03. White Christmas 2:29
04. Christmas Candy 2:19
05. Silver Bells 1:54


06. I’ll Be Home For Christmas 2:59
07. Winter Wonderland 3:12
08. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus 2:25
09. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow! 2:48
10. Jingle Bells Bossa Nova 2:23


11. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
12. Happy Holidays

Liner Notes


Here is music that is merry, multicolored, and as chock full of all-day pleasure as a bag full of Christmas candy. And it’s recorded in breath-taking sound!

You can dance to it, sing to it, wrap presents to it, or chant old Santa down the chimney to it. And it’s perfect for setting that festive mood while you’re trimming the holiday tree.

For recent Christmases past, Eddie Dunstedter recorded two splendid albums of Christmas music that emphasized the reverent, reflective spirit of Yuletide. For this season, he chose especially to play
the songs that celebrate the joy and jollity of Christmas. With this in mind, he selected the Style K Gulbransen Rialto Theatre Organ with Leslie Multirank speaker system to play upon, a new instrument with an unusually musical blending of tones. And he surrounded himself with a Jingle Bells orchestra including bells, vibes, marimba, string bass, Fender bass, and rhythm guitar, played by an assemblage of the West Coast’s finest musicians and utilizing arrangements by the gifted Sid Feller.

The music is lighthearted and filled with a wonderful good humor. “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” Eddie does as an easy, lilting, softshoe shuffle. “Jingle Bells” emerges a completely captivating bossa nova. The haunting old ballad “Greensleeves” gets a lively contemporary treatment in which Eddie’s Gulbransen organ is buoyed along by bass and Fender guitar.

This is music that lifts the heart and makes of any gathering a gala Christmas party. It is especially intended as a delightful addition to the collections of those who may already own one or more albums of more traditional treatments of the songs of Christmas. But it is also a collection so delightful to listen to, so sparkling in its fine musicianship, that it can be forever enjoyed not only during the holiday season but at almost any other time of the year.

Produced by BILL MILLER

Thoughts From The King

This is one of those Christmas albums that really should be a classic and needs to be remastered and re-released for sale. At this point, however, you either have to get yourself an old copy on vinyl or satisfy yourself with the several tracks that have been released as part of the excellent Ultra-Lounge series.

Listen to what you’ve been missing: